Helen Hornbeck Tanner Student Conference Paper Award

The award was named in honor of Dr. Helen Hornbeck Tanner and is awarded every year at the annual meeting of the American Society for Ethnohistory to the best paper presented by a graduate student.  The award will include a certificate and a cash prize of $250.


Paper submissions must be between 10 to 12 pages (or 2,500 to 3,000 words), excluding citations and primary source appendices.  Graduate students must submit their papers in advance and the winner will be announced at the annual meeting of the American Society for Ethnohistory.

Students who wished to have their work considered for the graduate student paper prize should submit their work electronically to the four members of the committee.  Those names are located under the heading “Current Leadership” on the home page of this website.  The deadline is two weeks prior to the conference. You must send you paper no later than Sunday, September 30th and the student must present the paper at the conference.

The committee for this year:

Cathleen D. Cahill (Chair)
Associate Professor of History
Penn State University

Alex Hidalgo
Assistant Professor of Latin American History
Texas Christian University

Margaret Huettl
Assistant Professor, History and Ethnic Studies
University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Linda K. Williams
Professor of Art History
Department of Art & Art History
University of Puget Sound

2018 – First Prize: Samantha Davis, Penn State University, for a paper entitled, “The Racial Implications of the Proposed Fortifications in San Francisco de Campeche, 1600 – 1700.”
2017 – First Prize: Valeria Matsumoto, Brown University, for a paper entitled, “Dividing Land and Defining Territory in Colonial Kiiche’an Narratives.” Second Prize: Aaron Luedke, Michigan State University, for a paper entitled, “Mythologizing the White Man’s Friend: Misrepresentation of Indian Leaders in the Writing of Chicago’s Origin Story.” Third Prize: Claudia Rogers, University of Leeds, England, for a paper entitled, “Going Beyond ‘The Beach’: In Between Spaces of First Encounter in the Caribbean and Mesoamerica, 1492 – 1530.”