Erminie Wheeler-Voeglin Book Award

The award was established in 1981 to honor Dr. Erminie Wheeler-Voegelin and is awarded in recognition of the best book-length contribution to ethnohistory.


In order to be considered for the Erminie Wheeler-Voeglin Book Prize, 1) nominations must have been published in the year prior to the current one, and 2) the author must be a current member of ASE.  For example, books nominated for 2017 must have been published in 2016.  Deadline for delivery of all submissions to committee members is APRIL 1 of the current year. 

Please note: Award recipients are strongly encouraged to attend the conference to receive the award.

2016 – James Brooks, Mesa of Sorrows: A History of the Awat’ovi Massacre. (W.W. Norton and Company, 2016).
2014 – Gary Van Valen, Indigenous Agency in the Amazon: The Mojos in LIberal and Rubber-Boom Bolivia, 1842 – 1932. (The University of Arizona Press, 2014).
2013 – Leslie A. Robertson, Standing Up: Jane Constance Cook and the Politics of Memory, Church, and Custom. (University of British Columbia Press, 2013).
2012 – Peter Sigal, The Flower and Scorpion: Sexuality and Ritual in Early Nahua Culture. (Duke University Press, 2012).
2011 – Tiya Miles, The House on Diamond Hill: A Cherokee Plantation Story. (University of North Carolina Press, 2011).
2010 – Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation and Shirleen Smith, People of the Lakes: Stories of Our Van Tat Gwich’in Elders//Googwandak Nakhwach’ànjòo Van Tat Gwich’in. (University of Alberta Press, 2010).
2009 – Karl Jacoby, Shadows at Dawn: A Borderland Massacre and the Violence of History. (Penguin Books, 2009).
2008 – Christian W. McMillen, Making Indian Law: The Hualapai Land Case and the Birth of Ethnohistory. (Yale University Press, 2008).
2007 – Ned Blackhawk, Violence over the Land: Indians and Empires in the Early American West. (Harvard University Press, 2007).