Annual Conference, 2018

The 2018 annual meeting will take place in Oaxaca, Mexico on October 11-13. The Centro Cultural de San Pablo and the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México are hosting the meeting, and the UCLA Latin American Institute and the UCLA American Indian Studies Center are organizing the program.

Call for Papers 2018

Convocatoria 2018

The meeting will take place at the Hotel Victoria in Oaxaca City. The hotel is comfortable and inexpensive; there is an excellent hotel package for conference attendees.

Click Here for Hotel Reservation

(Please note: price will be displayed as pesos)

Oaxaca is a beautiful city in southern Mexico surrounded by ancient monumental sites, including Monte Albán and Mitla, and many Indigenous communities. Oaxaca has one of the largest Indigenous populations of any state in Mexico. The city is safe and October is a pleasant time of year, after the rainy season. The conference will feature organized tours to nearby sites of interest, and cultural events in the evenings. There are many excellent restaurants, cafés, museums, bookstores, markets and shops in the city.

Flights from North America to Oaxaca are direct or involve a change of plane in Mexico City. Rolling submissions of proposals and acceptances will allow participants to plan in advance. Please note that it is important that participants take advantage of the hotel conference package and stay at the Hotel Victoria. Although there are many attractive hotels and B&Bs in Oaxaca, the special offer that the local organizers have secured for the conference hotel is contingent on occupying a certain number of rooms. Besides, it is a very convenient place to stay, as all the conference sessions will take place at the hotel. The Hotel Victoria has several meeting rooms, a large auditorium, a pool, a restaurant, and a bar.

This year, ASE membership requirements to participate in the conference will be waived for residents of Latin American nations, including Mexico.

Questions about the program can be directed to the program committee at